Saturday, December 14, 2019
Home > Fashion & Lifestyle > Bhaag Milkha Bhaag leads IIFA 2014 nominations

Bhaag Milkha Bhaag leads IIFA 2014 nominations

Farhan Akhtar-starrer Bhaag Milkha Bhaag, a biopic on former athlete Milkha Singh, has bagged 10 nominations — the highest this year — for the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) Awards, which will be held in Tampa Bay, Florida next month.

The nominations in the popular category for the 15th edition of the extravaganza, touted to be Indian cinema’s most spectacular award ceremony outside the country, were announced on Thursday.

Competing in close quarters with Bhaag Milkha Bhaag are Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s Goliyon Ki Raasleela – Ram-Leela and Mohit Suri’s Aashiqui 2, with seven nominations each. The Ranbir Kapoor-starrer Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani scored six nominations, said a statement.

Other popular films of 2013 — Krrish 3, Chennai Express, Kai Po Che and The Lunchbox — have also earned a few nominates.

In the category of the best leading male, actors who have been nominated are: Shah Rukh Khan (Chennai Express), Hrithik Roshan (Krrish 3), Ranbir Kapoor (Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani), Farhan Akhtar (Bhaag Milka Bhaag), Ranveer Singh (Goliyon Ki Raasleela – Ram-Leela) and debutant Sushant Singh Rajput (Kai Po Che).

And, in the category of the best leading female, actress Deepika Padukone leads with three nominations — Goliyon Ki Raasleela – Ram-Leela, Chennai Express and Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani. Other contenders are Sonakshi Sinha (Lootera), Nimrat Kaur (The Lunchbox) and Shraddha Kapoor (Aashiqui 2).

The best director nominees include film-makers Sanjay Leela Bhansali, Rakesh Roshan, Rohit Shetty, Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra and Abhishek Kapoor.

The movies which have been nominated in the best film category are — Dhoom 3, Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani, Goliyon Ki Raasleela – Ram-Leela, Krrish 3, Kai Po Che, Chennai Express and Bhaag Milkha Bhaag.

The Videocon D2H IIFA Weekend, presented by Tata Motors, will be held from April 23 to 26, and the awards will be given away at the Raymond James Stadium in Tampa Bay on April 26.