Thursday, December 12, 2019
Home > Sports > South Africa ‘preferred’ IPL venue after India

South Africa ‘preferred’ IPL venue after India

Bengaluru: Indian cricket board secretary Sanjay Patel has hinted that the Indian Premier League-7 (IPL) could be held in South Africa if it clashes with the general elections at home. It was also confirmed that the high-profile T20 event will take place between April 9 and June 3.

“As far as possible, our interest is to hold the IPL in India. Then, probably, South Africa is the preferred venue at the moment. The second option is also there and the third option is also there,” said Patel at the IPL auction here yesterday.

It has also been reported that UAE and Bangladesh are also in the running to be IPL host.

“We are considering so many options with regard to the venue. We are waiting first for the home ministry to check the possible dates,” Patel added.

IPL chairman Ranjib Biswal said he will be meeting officials at the home ministry next week to explore the possibility of having the whole tournament in India.

“We will be speaking to the officials in the government and the home ministry,” said Biswal.

“We want to hold maximum number of matches in India and if we get the green signal from the government, then probably the whole tournament can be played here,” he said adding that all teams have been kept in the loop.

Meanwhile, all-rounder Rishi Dhawan and batsman Kedar Jadhav sealed multi-million rupee deals with Kings XI Punjab and Delhi Daredevils respectively as the uncapped cricketers went under the hammer on the second and final day of the Indian Premier League (IPL) players’ auction here yesterday.

Ranji Trophy’s top wicket-taker this season, Dhawan (base price of Rs2 million, Dh118,000), was signed for a huge Rs30 million (Dh17.7 million) by the Kings XI Punjab via the “Right to Match” provision after being snapped up initially by the Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Meanwhile, Ranji Trophy’s top-scorer this season, Jadhav (base price Rs3 million) was recruited by Delhi Daredevils for Rs20 million after intense bidding. Delhi also used the “Right to Match” provision after he was initially taken by Sunrisers Hyderabad.

The other big winners after the initial rounds of bidding were Rajat Bhatia (Rs17 million, Rajasthan Royals), Manish Pandey (Rs17 million Kolkata Knight Riders), Aditya Tare (Rs16 million, Mumbai Indians), K L Rahul (Rs10 million, Sunrisers Hyderabad), Gurkeerat Singh (Rs13 million, Kings XI Punjab), Parveez Rasool (Rs9.5 million, Sunrisers Hyderabad) and Unmukt Chand (Rs6.5 million, Rajasthan Royals).